Miscellaneous Government Agencies

North County Transit District (NCTD)

The North County Transit District provides integrated public transit service within the North San Diego County region. NCTD's geographical service area encompasses 1,020 square miles of North San Diego County extending from Del Mar in the South, Northeasterly to Escondido, North to the Riverside County line and West to the Orange Count line. The area includes the unincorporated communities of Fallbrook and Ramona as well as Camp Pendleton Marine Corp Base. Other cities in the service area include Solana Beach, Encinitas, Carlsbad, Oceanside, Vista and San Marcos. The total population of NCTD's service area is 823,000. The NCTD Board of Directors is made up of one representative from each incorporated city in the District plus the Fifth District County Supervisor.

Executive Director: Karen King
Board Members: Jerome Stocks (Chairman, Encinitas), Ed Gallo (Vice-Chair, Escondido), Norine Sigafoose (Carlsbad), David Druker (Del Mar), Shari Mackin (Oceanside), Hal Martin (San Marcos), Lesa Heebner (Solana Beach), Bob Campbell, Bill Horn (Dist. 5)
Web site: http://www.gonctd.com/
Address: 810 Mission Avenue, Oceanside, CA 92054
Telephone: (760) 967-2828

Rinon Del Diablo Water District

Rincon del Diablo Municipal Water District consists of a parent district, two water improvement districts, and a fire district. The Parent District encompasses 26,760 acres (42 square miles), and serves approximately 27,000 people through its two Improvement Districts. The District's infrastructure system consists of nearly 7,500 potable water meters, 132 miles of pipeline, four pump stations, and 10 storage reservoirs containing 26 million gallons of water. The District's service area is located partially within the City of Escondido, partially within San Diego County, and also serves small areas of the cities of San Marcos and San Diego. The fire district serves 13,000 people with fire and rescue services.

General Manager: Annette Hubbell
Board Members: John B. Hinrichs (President), Dr. Gregory Quist, Willis G. Cornelius, Dr. Hanno E. G. Ix, Diana L. Towne
(Board of Directors meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm at the District office. These meetings are open to the public.)
Web site: http://www.rinconwater.org/
Address: 1920 North Iris Lane, Escondido, CA 92026-1399
Telephone: (760) 745-5522 Fax: (760) 745-4235

Vallecitos Water District

The Vallecitos Water District provides water, wastewater, and reclamation services to San Marcos; the community of Lake San Marcos; parts of Carlsbad, Escondido, and Vista.

General Manager: William W. Rucker,
Board Members: Tim Shell,Trish Hannan,Paul A. Davy ,Margaret E. "Betty" Ferguson ,Darrell Gentry
(The Board of Directors meets every first and third Wednesday of each month at 4 p.m. These meetings are open to the public.)
Web site: http://www.vwd.org/
Address: 201 Vallecitos de Oro, San Marcos, CA 92069
Telephone: (760) 744-0460 Fax: (760) 744-5989

Valley Center Municipal Water District

The Valley Center Municipal Water District provides water to the Valley Center area. It also provides waste water services to 2,400 customers.

General Manager: Gary T. Arant
Board Members: Gary A. Broomell (President), Robert A. Polito, Randy D. Haskell, C.W. Stone, Jr., Merle J. Aleshire
(The Board meets on the first and third Mondays of each month at 2:00 P.M. The public is welcome to attend.)
Web site: http://www.vcmwd.org/
Address: 29300 Valley Center Road, P.O. Box 67, Valley Center, California 92082
Telephone: (760) 749-1600

Palomar Pomerado Health

Palomar Pomerado Health is the largest public hospital district in California, covering nearly 800 square miles in Inland North County. Palomar Pomerado includes the 328-bed Palomar Medical Center, 107-bed Pomerado Hospital, two skilled nursing facilities, five health centers, a surgery center, home health program, physician referral service and wellness classes.

President and CEO: Michael H. Covert
Board Members: Marcelo Rivera, M.D.(Chairman), Nancy L. Bassett, R.N., M.B.A. (Vice-Chair), T.E. (Ted) Kleiter, Nancy H. Scofield, Linda Greer, R.N., Bruce Krider, Alan W. Larson, M.D.
(Meetings are held once a month at 6:30 p.m., rotating sites between Palomar Medical Center and Pomerado Hospital)
Web site: http://www.pph.org/
Address: Palomar Medical Center, 555 E. Valley Pkwy, Escondido, CA 92025
Telephone: Phone: (760) 739-3000
Address: Pomerado Hospital, 15615 Pomerado Road, Poway, CA 92064
Telephone: (858) 613-4000

San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG)

SANDAG is a comprehensive organization which represents all local government in San Diego County. It is governed by a Board of Directors composed of mayors, councilmembers, and a county supervisor from each of the region's 19 local governments. Other governmental organizations in the region serve as advisory members. The agency builds consensus, makes strategic plans, obtains and allocates resources, and provides information on a broad range of topics pertinent to the region's quality of life.

Executive Director: Gary L. Gallegos
Communications Director: Garry Bonelli
Board Members: Mickey Cafagna (Chair, Poway), Teresa Sessom (Vice Chair, Lemon Grove), Lori Holt Pfeiler (Vice Chair, Escondido), Matt Hall (Carlsbad), Steve Padilla (Chula Vista), Phil Monroe (Coronado), Crystal Crawford (Del Mar), Mark Lewis (El Cajon), Christy Guerin Encinitas), Patricia McCoy Imperial Beach), Art Madrid La Mesa), Ron Morrison (National City), Shari Mackin (Oceanside), Jerry Sanders, Jim Madaffer (San Diego), Pia Harris-Ebert (San Marcos), Jack Dale (Santee), Joe Kellejian (Solana Beach), Judy Ritter (Vista), Bill Horn (County of San Diego)
Web site: http://www.sandag.cog.ca.us/
Address: 401 B Street, Suite 800, San Diego, CA 92101
Telephone: (619) 699-1900 Fax: (619) 699-1905,